Quick clear up please....

This the place to have frank, but cordial, discussions of the Lizzie Borden case

Moderator: Adminlizzieborden

LABRhush

Quick clear up please....

Post by LABRhush »

Hi everyone. I'm an author and just wanted to clear up some details with your help. Jane Gray was Abby's stepmother, correct? Making Sarah Whitehead her half sister. I believe. And was Sarah the one nicknamed Birdie? And it is Birdie, rather than Bertie, right? I've done so much research I can't find these specific details in my notes. Lol. And thanks everyone, this forum is so incredibly helpful!
To do list: Eat pears :color:
WFordII

Re: Quick clear up please....

Post by WFordII »

I believe you are correct. She also had a niece they called Little Abby. According to their own words, Abby was a frequent visitor and often brought them little gifts, like mince pies with a hint of rose water. The ill-fated Mrs. Borden may not have been the perfect stepmother, but I don't see evidence that suggest she was the hateful, monsterous glutton she's often portrayed in pop culture.
LABRhush

Post by LABRhush »

Thank you, WFordl! Love these details. Perfect ❤️ And agreed. I absolutely do not think she was a gluttonous evil stepmother. Oh the gossip. So, also, Birdie w a d not t.... right?
WFordII

Post by WFordII »

Yes, with a D. I am also a writer and a student of Lizzie Borden. I would enjoy chatting with you more indepth about this fascinating case. Please feel free to message me!
LABRhush

Post by LABRhush »

Sounds fun! Same here. Msg me anytime, WFordll. I'd love to hear your take. Lizzie is my favorite topic!
jcurrie

Post by jcurrie »

I always understood that Sarah Whitehead's nickname was Bertie, not Birdie. This information is, I believe, stated in several books
Kat

Post by Kat »

Yes, jcurrie.
The listing in Hoffman’s book, Yesterday in Old Fall River says Sarah Bertha (Gray) Whitehead, 1864-1932.
“Bertie” is short for Bertha.
Kat

Post by Kat »

And: